Can You Hear Me (Flush) Now?

Courtesy pointsincase.com

As a business traveler, I’m all about connectivity. Email me, text me, IM me, Facebook me, DM me, or yes, call me. But do not expect me to answer the phone from a urinal or, worse, a bathroom stall. It will not happen. I promise you. It. Will. Not. Happen. However, I can’t vouch for the rest of the male world. Sorry. It’s definitely happening. There are men all across the country who are downloading their co-worker on a client meeting or updating their boss on financials while adjusting their junk at a urinal or sitting on a toilet with their pants around their ankles. Classy, right? It’s true. And so very wrong. I came across a statistic in a training session the other day that boldly claimed that roughly 46% of people have used their smart phones while in the bathroom. And when asked for a live show of hands in the session, that statistic was embarrassingly confirmed. And yes, ladies, you are included in that statistic. I’d like to believe that the majority of that “use” percentage reflects surfing the Web, but the phone conversations I’m not only privy to, but inadvertently participating in, at the urinal, lead me to believe otherwise. Huffington Post Tech recently shared stats from a Google survey calling out that 39% of smartphone users have used their phones while going to the bathroom. Not in the bathroom — going to the bathroom. These conversations also beg the more important questions: Are our bathroom conversationalists washing their hands? Are they washing their phones? If there is a stat on that, I don’t think I want to see it.

One thought on “Can You Hear Me (Flush) Now?

  1. My mom is one of those people who talks while going to the bathroom…I just had to say it.

Leave a Reply

