My Dad’s on Facebook

Yep. It happened. My dad’s on Facebook. He friended me just the other day. I confirmed immediately. What was I supposed to do? Ignore years of discipline and click “ignore”? It wasn’t in my DNA. It didn’t even cross my mind. I immediately accepted. He’s now my friend… and my dad.

Now, I admit, this was probably my own fault. I encouraged him. I just never thought he’d do it. I should have known better (guess where I get my competitive edge). One phone call we were talking about how a group I had performed with in college had used it to facilitate performance reunion via Facebook. It occurred to me that Facebook might be the best way to reconnect with all of the missionaries he and Mom worked with during their mission in Australia a while back. I just never thought he’d do it. He did. Good on ya, Dad, to quote your Aussie friends!

Now? I’m just going to sit back and watch Dad navigate the lunar landscape that is Facebook. We’re talking about a 77 year-old guy who has 20 years in the US Air Force (retired at full bird), 20 years in the private sector (retired at full bank), 3 LDS missions (retirement is not an option), and nearly 40 years in leadership positions within the LDS church (retirement is eternal… at least we hope). My dad is going to have “friends” crawling out of the woodwork… If Mom thought she wasn’t able to get on the computer before? Yeah, get ready, Mom. You can forget about it now. Time to break out the Netbook that Chris, Jana, Dave and me got you for your birthday and join Facebook yourself!

The biggest question? What will my niece M’Kynzi do? Her quote (inflect attitude at will): “I don’t ‘friend’ family, and I don’t give out my email address to family, either.” Hmmm… how tough is your DNA, little girl? Only your Facebook profile knows…

See you online, Dad.

9 thoughts on “My Dad’s on Facebook

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention My Dad’s on Facebook « Squelching Al's Exuberance -- Topsy.com

  2. Alan, I was laughing so hard at this. I read it to Con. I saw your dad on FB too and friended him, too. Very impressive. Are you and I friends?!

  3. Hey, hey, hey now! If you’re going to insult me at least give me the courtesy of spelling my name correctly and know that I do “friend” family—as long as they’re in my generation.

    And don’t even question my DNA. If I weren’t stubborn enough as a Newbold, I sure am as a Smith.

  4. Sorry to burst your bubble, but I’m the one who set up their page for them. And Mom is the one who uses it, but I forgot to put her name on the original page, and the site wouldn’t let me change Dad’s name to ‘Dale and Barbara.’ Then I went through and clicked on every family member I could find so that Mom could see all the smiling faces of her descendants. It’s great fun to be the resident computer expert–although John laughs/snorts at the thought of me giving anyone computer advice. Mom calls frequently trying to remember how to get back to, or into facebook.

  5. Ha! I wasn’t taking credit for their page, Cynthia. Just that I had talked to Dad about it. I figured someone else had engaged them, since my profiles are fairly private and you can only add me if you can see me. I give you FULL credit. You are a goddess of Facebook and a glorious sister!

  6. M’kynzi, you win. My bad on the spelling. But their was no insult, just checking to see if you were alive and active, and it worked. And yes, you are as stubborn as any Newbold or Smith combined. That’s DNA that will work well for you your entire life. Oh, and nice job on the blog wars, FYI. I voted for you. How is it going? Are you still in the running?

  7. M’kynzi, If you’re still reading.. You have your parents to blame if everyone spells your name wrong. 🙂

    Cynthia, you’re amazing! And good to know it’s really your mom on there!

Leave a Reply

