Cover to Cover

Some new reads for anyone interested…

imagesA definite must-read. Written by David Benioff — so very young, I might add. I’m impressed with his wisdom and wit for an author his age. Definitely a gift. The story is about a guy who has to write a story about his own uneventful life, so he finally gets his grandfather (retired in FL) to tell him “about the war.” The rest is an incredibly moving story about his grandfather and another young man fighting to stay alive during the seige of Leningrad. I’ve not read anything of late that weaves humor and tragedy so effortlessly. Absolutely one of my favorite reads this year.

images-1Written by P.D. James. I frequently have a tough time getting into the British writers and their mysteries. American writers of the genre tend to right for the jugular, while the British authors take their time introducing a multitude of characters and widening the story line every chapter. Once I settle in, I enjoy them. It just takes some patience for me to settle in. This one was worth it. The characters came to life vibrantly and the plot thickened with a history among its characters and the location of the crimes committed. While not a must-read recommendation, it’s certainly enjoyable.

images-2Written by David Guterson. I first discovered David Guterson in a bookstore in Ketchikan, AK. I loved that bookstore. It introduced me to some of my favorite authors that summer, David Guterson being one of them with “Snow Falling on Cedars.” I struggled with “The Other” for quite a while. I just could not get involved. I felt like it was moving at a snail’s pace, and I didn’t have the time to wait when I needed to escape. But, I respect Mr. Guterson, and decided to stick with it. I was rewarded. Loved it. I was completely taken by the central character, his flaws and his loves. Very well written and worth the time investment.

images-4Written by Jane Austen (yes) and Seth Grahame-Smith. Yes, it’s really called “Pride, Prejudice and Zombies,” and will simply make your day if you are a fan of Ms. Austen. Just imagine the entire novel with the subtext of a Zombie plague running throughout. Elizabeth and her sisters are all skilled assassins, having trained abroad in China (apparently Ninja fighting techniques are a must for Zombie warfare…). All of the characters stay true to themselves with the added impetus of the zombie plague; the heroics and barbarics of such a plague and how it alters their characters is interwoven into the original plot lines with intelligent humor. It’s actually more entertaining a read when picturing the latest film actors and actresses in these roles. Imagine Dame Judy Dench battling Kiera Knightly via “Crouching Tiger/Hidden Dragon” theatrics in a dojo on Elizabeth’s father’s property when Lady Katherine (Britain’s foremost Zombie killer) discovers there may be a relationship between Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy. Of course, Darcy realized she loved him when she let Lady Katherine live! Ah, you must read it for yourself. It’s quick and fun and silly and thoroughly enjoyable.

images-3Written by Andrew Davidson. I’m only 110 pages in, but was hooked within the first paragraph. Written in a narrative voice by a burn victim, it literally mesmerized me within minutes. I’ve never read anything by Andrew Davidson, but the brutal honesty with which he introduces his central character is riveting. It might be my best read of the year, yet… I’ll let you know when I’ve finished. I actually look forward to bed every night and get frustrated when I’m too tired to read!

Leave a Reply

